Nightmares

Despair greeted me when I awoke this morning, opening my eyes to the light pouring in the window. My heart pounded, and it took a little time to place the objects in my room.

No ex.

None of his things.

None of the rooms present in my dreams.

Although I immediately relaxed from that state of near panic, I’ve been on edge all day. For a few moments, I thought everything of these past 18 months had been but a dream. In it’s place, the actual dream placed me back with my ex. The location, however, was the house I grew up in. We had his niece staying with us, roughly 9 years in my dream, and another teenage girl. I returned home from work, and found them both uneasy. The older girl was supposed to stay with us, but had called to be picked up, even though it would take a few hours.

We all moved on eggshells. Me, as I didn’t want to subject the younger girls to my ex’s verbal diatribes. I don’t recall what happened next, but my ex followed me about the circular house, screaming his anger at me.

I eventually turned around, and stood up for myself. At the least, yelling back that it was not alright for him to treat me in that manner. His response was to become sulky-angry, and he stormed off to hide in the office.

The older girl went out the front door to wait outside for her ride. The niece looked at me with wide eyes, and I heard from her that my ex had been vocalizing this kind of anger while I was gone. I started gathering things, and quietly told the girl that if my ex came out of my room to just go out to the car. She wanted her things first, but unfortunately they were in the office where my ex was.

I went to try and retrieve them, and my ex opened the door when I got there, staring at me with his cold death stare and a freezing anger. The kind of anger that led to things breaking, while I held my breath and wondered if, this time, I would be next.

That is when I awoke.

I have been trying to shake that dream off all day, with little luck. I can’t focus. Can’t study. So I decided to write it down. Try and put it into words in an effort to dump it from my mind.

I am safe.

I am out.

He can’t reach me now.

I just wish my nervous system would get the memo.

2 thoughts on “Nightmares

  1. Wow. I’m with you on this one. I just posted today that I too had a dream with my ex in it just last night. I am amazed at how realistic those dreams feel and how they are able to put you right back into that emotional state that existed back then. While it is a good reminder of why we are better off, it is a very uncomfortable way to wake up. Like you, I haven’t yet been able to shake the thoughts and the feelings that came with my dream.

    I guess we should be glad that it was just a dream and not reality. Hang in there. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I woke up and it felt like my past 18 months were briefly wiped out. I was -right there- as if I had encountered my ex in the flesh that day.

      I find it is difficult for others to grasp, sometimes. The immediacy of the feelings.

      Hope your today is better, thanks for commenting.

      Like

Share some thoughts...

