Relationship Equality

I want to be able to have healthy relationships; to be an equal partner in any romantic relationship I encounter. But what does that mean? What does that look like?

Those questions led me to other questions, like ‘How does individual power within a relationship impact that relationship?’ All those questions led me to this article:

Love and Power

Lots of food for thought here, a lot of it rooted in things my counselor is encouraging me to do to be a healthy individual on my own: shedding co-dependence; finding my own, authentic self; speaking up and having confidence in my own abilities.

We talk about our past as survivors of domestic violence. It’s a natural response, as we try and figure out what went wrong and how to prevent it from happening again. But sometimes, I think instead of focusing on what went wrong and trying to avoid those things, maybe it is healthier to look at what works,  and what is good for me to grow towards as an individual.

One way, I am essentially walking backwards. The other, I face the proper direction for where I want to go. Which, when it comes down to it, is kind of our goal as we strive to heal from the damage of our past.

Share some thoughts...

