Did my Abuser Love me in the Beginning?

Thought this was a powerful post, lots to consider in this.

Overcoming Narcissistic Abuse

One of the most difficult things to come to terms with is that your abuser did not love you. There are a couple of reasons why this is so hard to process. 

It is hard for us to believe that they did not love us, because they told us they loved us. Why would someone tell you they loved you, if they didn’t ?  Most people are very careful with the words “I love You.”

We have been brought up in a world that tells us not to say those words until we are sure.

We have been brought up in a world where we know that people will hold those words back, until they are very sure that they feel that way. Not only do people hold onto “I love you,” until they are sure about their feelings, they will also hold out on saying it, until they feel…

View original post 1,160 more words

2 thoughts on “Did my Abuser Love me in the Beginning?

  1. Thank you for reblogging this. I do not want to see more people suffer. The narcissistic will often use a hoovering tactic to draw people back in. If you realize the truth, you can avoid getting reused as narcissist supply. Don’t go back, no matter how much they tell you they have changed.
    Annie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Luckily (unluckily?) the threats got so bad that I don’t think I would ever be able to go back, even if he had changed.

      Your post struck a chord with me, because even when I left, I had begun to fear certain things were far more intentional than I had ever suspected before. Thankyou so much for sharing what you’ve learned. I gained a lot of insight, even though it was a bit hard to read and acknowledge that this could be the case for me too. I think it is very likely it was like this from the beginning, and he just kept pushing and pushing to see how far he could shove me.

      Like

Share some thoughts...

